SOUTHEASTERN WISCONSIN REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Thursday, January 19, 2023

SEWRPC Office Building Commissioners' Conference Room W239 N1812 Rockwood Drive Waukesha, WI 53188

Meeting Occurred in Person and Virtually via Video and Telephone Conference

Present:

Excused:

Committee Members:

Charles L. Colman, Chairman Michael A. Crowley, Vice-Chairman Thomas H. Buestrin James T. Dwyer Robert W. Pitts David L. Stroik Donna Brown-Martin Jonathan Delagrave

Staff:

Benjamin R. McKay	Interim Executive Director
Elizabeth A. Larsen	Director of Administration
Catherine M. Pozum	Accounting/Human Resources Specialist

ROLL CALL

Chairman Colman called the meeting to order at 1:49 p.m. Roll call was taken, and a quorum was declared present.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF NOVEMBER 17, 2022, MEETING

Chairman Colman asked if there were any changes or additions to the November 17, 2022, meeting minutes. There were none.

On a motion by Mr. Stroik, seconded by Mr. Crowley, and carried unanimously, the minutes of the Executive Committee meeting held on November 17, 2022, were approved as published.

CONSIDERATION OF ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE REPORT

Chairman Colman reported that the Administrative Committee, at its meeting held just before this Executive Committee meeting, had taken the following actions.

- 1. Reviewed and approved disbursements for financial periods: Year 2022 Nos. 23, 24, 25, and 26, and Year 2023 No. 1 October 24, 2022, to January 1,2023.
- 2. Reviewed and approved the Statement of Projected Revenue and Expenditures for the period ending January 1, 2023.

1:45 p.m.

-2-Executive Committee January 19, 2023

There being no questions or comments, on a motion by Mr. Stroik, seconded by Mr. Crowley, and carried unanimously, the Administrative Committee report was approved.

CONSIDERATION OF CONTRACTS

Chairman Colman asked Ms. Larsen to review the proposed contracts. Ms. Larsen noted that the report the Committee members received prior to the meeting listed seven contracts.

As Ms. Larsen discussed the acceptance of the County Surveyor contracts, by Kenosha, Milwaukee, Walworth, and Walworth Counties, Mr. Stroik asked when these contracts were last increased. Ms. Larsen stated these contracts have not increased in cost to the participating Counties since the Commission began acting as the County Survey in 2006. The Counties for which the Commission acts as the County Surveyor are Kenosha, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Walworth, and Waukesha Counties.

There being no further questions or comments, on a motion by Mr. Dwyer, seconded by Mr. Stroik, and carried unanimously, the contract report was accepted, and the report was placed on file (copy of report attached to Official Minutes).

WORK PROGRAM REPORTS

Chairman Colman asked Mr. McKay to review the Work Program Progress Report. Mr. McKay reviewed the report and noted that the report identifies key regional and selected community and county assistance efforts (copy of report attached to Official Minutes).

CONSIDERATION OF TRANSPORTATION IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM (TIP) AMENDMENTS (RESOLUTION NO. 2023-01)

Chairman Colman asked the Commission to consider adoption of Resolution No. 2023-01, which is an amendment to the Transportation Improvement Program for Southeastern Wisconsin: 2023-2026. Mr. McKay presented Resolution 2023-01, amending the 2023-2026 Regional Transportation Improvement Program (TIP). He indicated there are 18 existing projects and 22 new projects to be amended into the TIP. He stated that these projects were approved by the Commission's Advisory Committees on Transportation System Planning and Programming for the Kenosha, Milwaukee and Racine, and West Bend Urbanized Areas.

In response to an inquiry by Mr. Colman, Mr. McKay identified the number of projects in each County.

There being no further questions or comments, on a motion by Mr. Stroik to approve Resolution No. 2023-01, seconded by Mr. Dwyer, and carried by a vote on 6 ayes and 0 nays, Resolution No. 2023-01 was approved (copy of Resolution 2023-01 attached to Official Minutes).

CONSIDERATION OF AMENDMENT APPROVAL TO THE 2023 OVERALL WORK PROGRAM (RESOLUTION NO. 2023-02)

Chairman Colman asked the Commission to consider adoption of Resolution No. 2023-02, which is an amendment to the 2023 Commission Overall Work Program (OWP).

Ms. Larsen stated that this amendment is a proposed revision of the 2023 OWP, and is being done to add Federal Transit Administration Section 5304 funding to the 2023 work program activities. This funding will support the conduct of a Transit Enhancement Study for the Bluemound Road Corridor. This project was initiated in the fall of 2022. It was originally anticipated that this project would be completed in 2022, however due to staff workload, the project has been pushed to 2023. The total FTA funding for this project is \$140,000, with a match of \$35,000.

-3-Executive Committee January 19, 2023

In response to an inquiry by Mr. Dwyer, Mr. McKay stated that Commission staff prepared forecasts for the IH-94 East-West Corridor Study that is being prepared by WisDOT.

There being no further questions or comments, on a motion by Mr. Dwyer to approve Resolution No. 2023-02, seconded by Mr. Crowley, and carried by a vote of 6 ayes and 0 nays, Resolution No. 2023-02 was approved (copy of Resolution 2023-02 attached to Official Minutes).

CORRESPONDENCE AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

Chairman Colman updated the Committee on the Executive Director search. He stated that the Ad-Hoc Hiring Committee had hired Spano-Pratt Executive Search firm. Spano-Pratt has completed investigatory interviews of the staff, Commissioners, and public officials. The Committee will meet to discuss the findings of these interviews and work to determine what qualifications are desired for the next Executive Director.

Chairman Colman then asked Mr. McKay if there were any additional correspondence or announcements. Mr. McKay announced that Commissioner Crowley has been appointed as Chairman of the Planning and Research Committee. Commissioner Schleif will remain as Vice-Chairman of this Committee. He then stated that Commissioners Wirth and Nicholson stepped down from their positions at the Commission. Ms. Priscilla Coggs-Jones will be the new Milwaukee County Commissioner, replacing Ms. Nicholson. In addition, Ms. Amy Maurer will be the new Kenosha County Commissioner replacing John O'Day, and Ms. Katrina Hanson will be the new Washington County Commissioner, replacing Daniel Schmidt.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the Committee, the meeting was adjourned at 2:23 p.m. on a motion by Mr. Stroik, seconded by Mr. Crowley, and carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Benjamin R. McKay Interim Deputy Secretary

Enclosures

CLC/BRM/EAL/cp #00266566